Alex Adsett Publishing Services is a literary agency of genre fiction and freelance consultantancy offering commercial publishing advice to authors and publishers.

As a consultant, Alex Adsett offers her more than fifteen years of experience in the publishing industry to provide business advice and commercially review and negotiate publishing agreements.  Whether you’re an author wanting advice on your first publishing contract, or a publisher negotiating a sale of subsidiary rights, Alex Adsett can review contracts, advise on industry standards, or negotiate on your behalf.

As agents, Alex Adsett and partner Paul Landymore provide traditional literary agency services to select authors of genre fiction. We represent manuscripts of science fiction & fantasy, crime & mystery, horror and romance, for YA and adult readers.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Christmas Wrap-Up

This has been a big year – the BIGGEST year – for AAPS. Thanks for playing along via social media, email, in-real-life meetings and, most importantly, by buying books! AAPS is ending the year with 16 amazing authors and twelve published books.

So, in a shameless Christmas spruik, if you’re looking for print or ebooks, for yourself or gift giving, consider one of these beauties… Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles

GLOBAL ACQUISITION! – Maria Lewis

Press release from Piatkus. Posted by in Author News, Book News, Fiction, News, Recommended Reading. 14 Nov 2014

We are delighted to announce a brand new, global acquisition for Piatkus Fiction – Who’s Afraid? by the fabulously talented, debut author Maria Lewis!

This is a marvellous new urban fantasy by 25 year old Australian Daily Mail journalist Maria Lewis. Set predominantly in modern day Scotland and featuring a fab heroine who slowly begins to discover just how powerful she is, this is smart, fresh, sexy stuff!

Fans of Patricia Briggs, Keri Arthur, Sherrilyn Kenyon and anyone who loves Joss Whedon (you know who you are, people, and you rule) should definitely check this book out – we think it will be right up your street! Piatkus will be publishing Who’s Afraid? next year, so keep a look out for news and exclusive excerpts – and in the meantime we have a message from Maria herself . . . Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles

Worldwide deal – Tricia Sullivan to Gollancz in two book deal!

We are thrilled to announce that global rights in Tricia Sullivan’s first new adult SF in more than 6 years has been sold to Gollancz in a two book deal . Her new novel Occupy Me has been described as genre-defining, with mindblowing ideas and thrilling imaginative scope. It would not be an understatement to say that we are pretty excited to see the release of this incredible work into the world in 2016, and for that release to be through Gollancz, the oldest and one of the most respected SF publishers in the world, well… it’s a dream come true.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles

AAPS signs two new authors

We are very proud to announce that two new authors have been signed to the Alex Adsett Publishing Services Agency – Kate Zahnleiter and Narrelle Harris.

Kate is a remarkable young Brisbane author, and her literary fiction YA novel Fitting In With Normal People was one of the recipients of the QWC/Hachette Manuscript Development Program in 2013. This is AAPS’s first foray into literary fiction and we are excited to be representing this talented author and stunning debut manuscript.

Narrelle Harris is a beloved veteran of Australia’s SFF fandom, and her new novel Kitty and Cadaver is a wonderful, exciting and fun urban fantasy adventure with monsters, music and great characters that literally sing out of the pages.  Read the first few chapters of Kitty and Cadaver here.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

AAPS makes the paper!

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles