Alex Adsett Publishing Services is a full service literary agency, representing quality works of fiction and non-fiction for children, teens and adults. We also provide freelance consultancy services for Australian publishers and authors, including commercial review of publishing contracts.

literary agency buttonConsultancy

Comments Off on

Filed under Uncategorized

PENGUIN AUS ACQUIRES VALENTINE

Following close on the heels of signing with AAPS in 2015, we are over the moon to announce that Penguin Random House have acquired Jodi McAlister’s incredible supernatural YA series, Valentine. In a multi-book acquisition, Valentine – which features ominous fey happenings, adventure, and romance – will be published in time for Valentine’s Day 2017.

Four teenagers – all born on the same Valentine’s Day 17 years earlier – begin to disappear. As the bodies mount up, Pearl and Finn have to stop fighting long enough to work out what in the supernatural hell is going on, before it happens to them. The Fey suspect one of them is a Changeling. And the Fey want their Changeling back.

Valentine is a smart, witty contemporary YA for fans of Holly Black and Maggie Stiefvater. Author Jodi McAlister is an exciting new talent, already known to many as romance academic and popular blogger with Momentum Moonlight.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles

Who’s Afraid? launches in Australia

Maria signing booksWho’s Afraid? by our dynamic bombshell of an author Maria Lewis was released into the wild on 12th January, followed by first a private pre-launch event at Better Read Than Dead on 13th Jan – hosted by Rae Johnston and featuring werewolf cafe and incredible tote bags- and then the huge book and art show launch at Kinokuniya on 14th Jan – hosted by Marc Fennell and attended by more than 100 people. It has been a wild few days, with Maria managing to sell out Booktopia within 24 hours, make a few bestseller lists, and pique the interest of Tarantino himself. There’s much more news to come with Who’s Afraid? so maybe grab a copy while they’re in stock!

Maria and Rae Johnston 2 Maria Lewis Alan Baxter Marc and MariaBRTD Bestseller  Tote bags Werewolf cake

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles

Jodi McAlister joins AAPS

Jodi mcalister phdWe are delighted to announce our first new author for 2016 – the fabulous Jodi McAlister. Jodi will be a familiar name to many as she is a prolific blogger and tweeter for Momentum Moonlight, and an Academic active in the romance community.  Her academic work focuses on the history of love, the history of sex, and the history of popular literature.  We will have some exciting announcements about Jodi’s debut novel Valentine shortly, but in the meantime, we’re just happy to have her on board.

 

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles

2015 in review

skin-deepThis has been a big and exciting year for AAPS, in 2015, we have seen Gary Kemble’s debut thriller Skin Deep hit the shelves, along with Nicholas J Johnson’s Fast and Loose, sequel to Ned Kelly Crime Award nominee Chasing the Ace. Martin Shaw has joined the agency as our German co-agent, and we have signed new authors Jackie Ryan, Kathleen Jennings & Angela Slatter, Holly Harper, Shannon Horsfall, Bernice Barry and we still have two exciting announcements that didn’t quite get finalised to make the shouting list for 2015. Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles

Not Me by Shannon Horsfall to Harper Collins!

Not me coverWe are delighted to announce that the quite amazingly talented Shannon Horsfall – author, illustrator and designer – has sold her first book to Harper Collins. Picture book Not Me is scheduled for publication in July 2016, and will delight you!

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author news, News & Articles